The Time Pirate

books_time

The Time Pirate

Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Audio CD

Plot

A thrilling sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller Nick of Time, in which the young time traveler Nick McIver must prove his courage once more, on two fronts: in World War Two–era England, where Nazis have invaded his homeland, and in America during the Revolution, where Nick stands shoulder to shoulder with General George Washington

It’s 1940 and the Nazis are invading Nick’s beloved home, the British Channel Islands. So Nick takes to the skies: He has discovered an old World War One fighter plane in an abandoned barn. Determined to learn to fly, he is soon risking life and limb to photograph armed German minelayers and patrol boats, and executing incredibly perilous bombing raids over Nazi airfields by night.

Meanwhile, the evil pirate, Captain Billy Blood, still desperate to acquire Nick’s time machine, returns to Greybeard Island. He kidnaps Nick’s sister, Kate, and transports her back to Port Royal, Jamaica, in the year 1781, leaving Nick a message that if he wants to see her alive again, he must come to Jamaica and make an even swap: Kate’s life in exchange for Nick’s wondrous time machine—that’s Blood’s bargain.

Having traveled back in time, Nick discovers a plot that might change the outcome of the American Revolution. Disguised as an eighteenth-century cabin boy, he travels to the Caribbean and confronts his old enemy, who has assembled the world’s largest pirate armada.

From the battlefields of the New World to the brutal German occupation of English soil in World War Two, The Time Pirate has Nick McIver fighting once again to defend his country, the outcome of two wars resting on his young shoulders.

Praise for The Time Pirate:

In the tradition of Tom Swift and The Hardy Boys this book is a rollicking good time for the young reader and those of us young in heart. Nick McIver is a young man with a time machine. In this adventure he faces historic events in American history, pirates and Nazis.

Ted Bell does an excellent job of recreating the feel of the grand adventures I read as a boy. Nick McIver is pure of heart and free of malice. He attacks life with gusto and with the characteristic disregard for fear illustrated so well by Tom Swift. The character shows decision making and wisdom far beyond his chronological age. He thrusts himself into situations adults would fear to approach. He incites loyalty in adults who indulge his adventurous nature and who give him full rein to jump into exceedingly dangerous situations. So much of the book is totally outrageous in that any adult that knowingly allowed a young teen to do what Nick does in this book would be committed, arrested or pilloried for their behavior. This is probably what will make the book enormously successful for the young reader.

I heartily recommend it.

Pick Of The Literate, http://bookrevues.blogspot.com


“The breakneck pacing and wild plot will keep readers hanging on to the end.”

Booklist


“The Time Pirate is sure to please almost everyone, especially the guys. Ted Bell writes with a very classic style, right up there with Robert Louis Stevenson and Mark Twain. His adventurous imagination pulls readers into this spirited and deep, multilayered story… Fans will love this outstanding sequel to Nick of Time.”

TeenReads.com


“Swashbuckling action sequences and scenes of derring-do abound.”

School Library Journal


Pirates And Nazis And George Washington – Oh My! 5 Stars

THE TIME PIRATE starts off with a bang and plunges forward with excitement and adventure to the very end. Along the way, Nick meets a number of historical heroes, and he does his very best to do what he thinks is right. I love the values and morals of these books; they are filled with duty, honor, family, country, and politeness – all things I want my children to know. I also love that Nick and Katie’s parents are alive, loving, and supportive, and that the form a strong family unit. His parents may not know everything Nick is doing, but they know enough, and while they worry, they understand his motives.

Although it is marketed to grades 5 through 8, THE TIME PIRATE is really for the adventurer in all of us. I wish I had had something like this when I was learning history; history might have “stuck” with me better. I definitely would have enjoyed it more. And I did some checking: while the story is fictional, the facts are not. THE TIME PIRATE is rich in details and history of the both wars- the American Revolution and WWII.

IMHO, THE TIME PIRATE does what most sequels fail to do; it not only equals the first book in the series, it surpasses it. THE TIME PIRATE is a grand mash up of the best of Horatio Hornblower and Harry Potter. I hope Ted Bell plans many more books.

Karen, Top 1000 Amazon Reviewer


“The time-warp tale is fast-paced, with enough twists and turns to have readers unable to put the book down as they try to figure out what happens next.”

Asbury Park Press


“Ted Bell’s Nick of Time was an exciting romp through time and history that also examined what it takes to be a hero. … The Time Pirate is another great read in an exciting series – don’t miss it.”

BookLoons